All Staff Picks

Michael Vey: The Prisoner Of Cell 25
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Fans of X-Men and The Lorien Legacies will enjoy this book series about Michael Vey, a fifteen-year-old with special powers. His whole life he thought he was the only one like him, until he meets Taylor. They soon find out that there are even more “electric children” out there and that they might be in danger. A fun, action-packed read set in Meridian, Idaho!
Who's On First?
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Arguably the greatest comedy routine of all time, Who's on First? by Abbott and Costello has been made into a picture book! With fun illustrations and zany twists and turns, this book brings the hilarity of this comic duo to a format that all generations can enjoy.
The Legend Of Zelda. A Link Between Worlds
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Link returns to Hyrule in an awesome sequel to the SNES masterpiece A Link to the Past. Awesome 3D visuals and gameplay make this a one not to miss.
City Of Bones
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Clary Fray is just an ordinary girl. Or so she thought until one day when her mother is taken and she begins to see things that aren’t able to be seen by “mundanes” a.k.a. humans. With her sole purpose to get her mother back, Clary is thrust into the world of the Shadowhunters. Throw in a cute boy, or two, and you have YA magic. This is the first book of The Mortal Instruments series and has been adapted into a movie released August 21, 2013.
Searching For Sugar Man
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
The incredible true story of the 70s rock icon Rodriguez. 2013 Academy Award Winner for Best Documentary Feature.
Unicorn Thinks He's Pretty Great
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Goat just can't understand why everyone loves Unicorn so much. But, as it turns out, Unicorn is pretty cool. And together, he and Goat make a great team. A wonderful book about learning to appreciate how everyone is different, and sometimes that's a good thing.
The Grimm Legacy
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Elizabeth works at a library, but it is not your ordinary quiet, full of books library. This library lends items and specializes in powerful ones direct from the Brothers Grimm fairy tales. The book takes a mysterious turn when the item start to disappear and Elizabeth sets out to catch the thief before she becomes the accused.
The Rosie Project
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
A quirky, contemporary love story that is guaranteed to have you laughing out loud. Don Tillman, a socially awkward genetics professor decides it is time to get married. In order to find the perfect match, he creates a 16 page double-sided questionnaire…only to discover that love is not always what looks good on paper.
Whiskey Beach
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Nora Roberts has written yet another great romantic suspense novel. This time, she has set her story at the beach, where Eli Landon has gone to recover from the events of the past year. Events that destroyed the life he had known, and almost broke him. There he'll find inspiration, a place to rest, and (maybe) someone to love. But he'll also find that the past is hard to escape and sometimes the only way to do so is to care enough to fight.
Organic Body Care Recipes
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
If you are interested in making your own body care products such as body butters, facial scrubs and masks, astringents, and more check out this book! Stephanie Tourles is a certified holistic aesthetician, aromatherapist and herbalist. Her recipes are cosmetic grade and surprisingly simple.
Sherlock: Season One
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
A modern day version of Arthur Conan Doyle’s original classic tales. The Sherlock TV series is a fascinating, high-paced, witty and techy interpretation of the original stories.
William Shakespeare's Star Wars
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
If you're a fan of either Shakespeare's works or Star Wars, you'll love this re-imagining of 'A New Hope' as a Shakespearean play. Ian Doescher has translated the classic film's dialogue into the Bard's language, even going so far as to give RD-D2 the power of speech. A fabulously fun read.
The Lover's Dictionary
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
The Lover's Dictionary follows the relationship between a man and a woman. Each letter of the alphabet represents a different moment, good or bad, in that relationship. Read in alphabetical order, as if a dictionary, those moments don't always occur in the right sequence. Slowly, more and more pieces are added until finally we see the whole.
Blackfish
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
A shocking documentary about the realities of orca whales in confinement. This film opens the controversial discussion of keeping such beautiful, majestic, and intelligent animals in captivity.
Steelheart
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Great book! Set in a world where an event called Calamity has gifted some humans with super-human abilities, but instead of the traditional “some are heroes & some are villains” scenario, all are horrible monstrous people that have pretty much enslaved ordinary humans, but there is one group willing to fight back, the Reckoners. Brandon Sanderson's world building is amazing, the amount of detail he puts into every little thing just makes for a great book reading experience.
Dad Is Fat
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Comedic genius Jim Gaffigan has a knack for putting together a story that is realistic and ridiculous at the same time. In this novel (his first), he outlines the many challenges that go along with marriage and having a lot of kids. Those challenges are further compounded, in his case, by laziness and fame. Part biography and part self-help book, Dad is Fat is a great read that will have you laughing out loud from start to finish.
Super Mario 3D World
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Mario's all new adventure on the Wii U combines the oldschool 2D feel of the classics with the 3D worlds of the most recent games. Awesome level design and great multiplayer make this one to own.
Painted Red
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
JJ Heller is a very little known Christian singer/songwriter out of Nashville, but she is amazing. She has a soothing voice with powerful lyrics that speak right to you heart. This whole album is amazing & puts a smile on my face no matter what mood I might be in, but “Not Mine Anyway” is one I could put on repeat and listen to for hours.

Pages