Thirteen Reasons Why
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
On a series of tapes recorded by his classmate Hannah, Clay Jensen must listen to all the reasons she decided to end her life. The tapes were sent to him because something he did, or didn't do, was one of them. Afraid of what he’ll hear, he begins to listen. Told from dual narratives, this story will keep you intrigued from start to finish.
Enclave
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Set in an underground society by people who were driven underground when the surface of the earth destructed, survival is simply a way of life. Deuce is one of the lucky ones that have survived their first fifteen years and earns the right to be named and to be appointed a profession. As a huntress, she trains constantly in order to ward off the ever-impending attacks of the mutated monsters known as freaks.
Legend
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Day is the country’s most wanted criminal and he is now being accused of the murder of one of the military’s elite, Metias. June, Metias’ sister, is now in charge of tracking Day down, but of course things are not always that simple. Set in a futuristic United States, now known as the Republic, Legend is full of action and unexpected twists.
Delirium
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
In a future where love is banned and seen as a sickness, citizens undergo a procedure to cure them before they can be infected. But for Lena, it might already be too late. No longer content to live without it, she will risk everything for the chance to love.
Michael Vey: The Prisoner Of Cell 25
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Fans of X-Men and The Lorien Legacies will enjoy this book series about Michael Vey, a fifteen-year-old with special powers. His whole life he thought he was the only one like him, until he meets Taylor. They soon find out that there are even more “electric children” out there and that they might be in danger. A fun, action-packed read set in Meridian, Idaho!
City Of Bones
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Clary Fray is just an ordinary girl. Or so she thought until one day when her mother is taken and she begins to see things that aren’t able to be seen by “mundanes” a.k.a. humans. With her sole purpose to get her mother back, Clary is thrust into the world of the Shadowhunters. Throw in a cute boy, or two, and you have YA magic. This is the first book of The Mortal Instruments series and has been adapted into a movie released August 21, 2013.
The Grimm Legacy
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Elizabeth works at a library, but it is not your ordinary quiet, full of books library. This library lends items and specializes in powerful ones direct from the Brothers Grimm fairy tales. The book takes a mysterious turn when the item start to disappear and Elizabeth sets out to catch the thief before she becomes the accused.
Steelheart
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Great book! Set in a world where an event called Calamity has gifted some humans with super-human abilities, but instead of the traditional “some are heroes & some are villains” scenario, all are horrible monstrous people that have pretty much enslaved ordinary humans, but there is one group willing to fight back, the Reckoners. Brandon Sanderson's world building is amazing, the amount of detail he puts into every little thing just makes for a great book reading experience.
Every Day
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Everyday A wakes up in a new body, in someone else’s life. This is all A has ever known. On day 5994 he meets Rhiannon and instantly falls in love. But can Rhiannon ever truly love A back when he appears to be a different person every day?
The House Of The Scorpion
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
In the near future, young Matteo Alacrán is smart, curious ... and a clone. The original Matteo is El Patrón, 142-year-old ruler of Opium, the kingdom that comprises the border of the United States and Mexico. For the elite, clones are created as a source of "spare parts" to allow them to live so long, but young Matteo appears to be spared the same fate. Through a series of events, Matt is awakened to the realities of his existence. Can he survive the twists of fate and the vagaries of human nature? Recommended reading!
Paper Valentine
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
In Hannah Wagoner’s small town someone is murdering young girls. To make matters worse, Hannah is being literally haunted by her best friend Lillian who died six months earlier. At Lillian’s insistence, Hannah begins her own investigation of the murders, but will this lead to her becoming the next victim? Part mystery and part ghost story, Paper Valentine is an engaging and atmospheric read.
Cinder
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Everyone knows the story of Cinderella and her evil step mother and two horrible step sisters. Things get a little more complicated when you retell the tale and Cinderella becomes just Cinder, a cyborg in futuristic New Beijing. Cinder is a fun new take on the classic tale with drama, mystery, and of course romance with the reinventing of Prince Charming as Prince Kai.
Shatter Me
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Juliet can kill anyone that comes close, just by the touch of her skin. It is a secret that made her family ashamed of her and caused the society to lock her up in a series of prisons and asylums. When she is finally able to see the world again, a lot has changed and not for the better. With diseases and uprisings threatening to destroy, Juliet must choose a side and choose what version of herself she will become.
Stolen
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Sixteen-year-old Gemma is being watched. Ty has been watching her for a while, until the day he seizes his opportunity and takes her. Stolen is a letter written by a young girl to her kidnapper dealing with the confusion of her feelings toward him and how she survives and eventually escapes to find her family.
The Selection
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Think “The Bachelor,” but at least ten times better and in novel form. A quick, entertaining beginning to a series that promises romantic angst and political intrigue.
Cupid
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
With a dash of personal flare from author Julius Lester, this book is more than just the story of Psyche and Cupid. It entertains while dishing out hard-learned lessons about love. Especially good as an audio book!
Carter Finally Gets It
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Will Carter (Carter to his friends) is a typical teenage boy. Except he has attention deficit disorder and frequently stutters - both problems exasperated by being in the presence of girls. In the course of his first year of high school, he'll manage to get a girlfriend, lose a girlfriend, experience extreme blood loss (more than once), run from the cops (also more than once), make a lot of mistakes, and actually do several things right. And if you like this one, look for the sequel, Carter's Big Break.
You
You
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
"This wasn't the way it was supposed to go..." Such are Kyle Chase's thoughts at the outset of the novel, as he stands with shattered glass at his feet and blood everywhere. The rest of the book follows Kyle as he thinks back on the chain of events that led to this moment. You is a powerful story. A story that shows how our everyday decisions can affect the course of our lives for good or for bad.

Pages