All Staff Picks

The Adventures of Mark Twain
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
A delightful new introduction to Mark Twain for long time fans or first comers, but be careful, you may end up talking like Huck if you don’t watch out!
Hopper and Wilson
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Hopper and Wilson are friends who wonder what is at the end of the world. Hopper hopes to touch the moon, while Wilson wants nothing more than an endless supply of lemonade. This is a touching and playful story of what is truly important in life.
The Emerald Atlas
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter can jump head first into this tale of mystery, magic, intrigue and dark shadows. Remember to watch your back…and beware of the Schreechers! (And watch out for book two – coming soon!)
Lily Renée, Escape Artist
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
A very fun, and short, introduction to a brilliant artist. Lily Renee was born in Vienna but when WWII erupted she had to flee to England and then to America where she became a celebrated artist of comic books. Her story is both inspiring and, at times, scary - but ultimately triumphant.
No Ordinary Day
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Valli spends her days scavenging pieces of coal and fighting with her cousins in Jharia, India. She wants more, but it is the only life she knows. Then, when she learns that the family she thought was hers, really isn’t, she leaves her home and ends up living on the streets of Kokata. One day, she is given the opportunity to get off the streets. Valli must decide whether to take a risk and accept the offered help, or remain on the dangerous streets she understands. This is a story of hope that will stick with the reader.
Hope for Hashimoto’s
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
What is interesting about the book is how the author describes the patient lifestyle for an autoimmune disease. Comparing it to a set of scale that balances between healthy and unhealthy areas and what may cause an upset in equilibrium makes this more understandable. In 2005 over 100 autoimmune diseases were recognized by the National Institute of Health affecting over 23.5 million people and many of them got through 6 to 8 doctors before getting diagnosed. Environmental versus genetically caused conditions are also discussed and what might be triggers for some of them.
Jake Stays Awake
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Jake doesn't like to sleep in his bed, but his parents are tired of having him sleep in their bed, so they tell Jake to pick another spot for all of them to sleep. Hilarity follows. I love this and all of Michael Wright's "Jake" books (three to date). The pictures are in a bright cartoon style, with interesting perspectives and humorous details. The rhyming text adds to the laughs, especially when read aloud.
Hello, Cruel World
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Feeling out of place in a world that says you should be “just so”? Have you been told you’re “not supposed to be like that”? Well, then, this book if for you. Kate’s refreshingly honest voice reaches out to teens of all walks of “alternative” lifestyles and says “Hey! Guess what? The world needs good people and it doesn’t matter if you’re ‘different’!” Bringing a message of welcome and hope to the many who need to hear it, Kate Bornstein encourages you to feel good about who (and what) you are.
Art Of The Chicken Coop
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Delightful ideas for coops for your feathered flock including Materials Lists and the capacity and design tips with photos of each step make this a practical book. Interesting and fun facts are of the bottom of the pages with recipe ideas. Profiles of chicken raising people and their experience are shared to make this an effective tool for people who are contemplating adding poultry to their lives. The one that I most enjoyed was the Gypsy Hen Caravan style coop the author designed and plans are included.
The Foretelling
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Rain is a young woman whose fate is decided for her. She is an Amazon sister with the strength of fifty men, who rides her white horse like wind in the sky, and who is meant to be queen. Then she dreams of the black horse who is said to be the death of the Amazon way. With everything decided for her, will Rain discover who she really is?
Curse Of The Blue Tattoo
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Winner of the prestigious Audie award, Katherine Kellgren takes listeners into the ever intriguing – and often quite messy – world of Bloody Jack. This second book sees Jacky heading to Boston to attend a …well, you’ll never guess and should therefore just listen! This story will keep you riveted and wanting more of L.A. Meyer’s brilliantly written character and her wild escapades.
The Night Circus
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
This is a wonderful magical tale with two main characters Marco and Celia who were raised by magicians to offer resolution of a game showcasing the strength of their magical skills. The arena is Le Cirque des Rives a circus that appears randomly throughout the world and only takes place in the nighttime. The author involves the reader in a sensory description that walks you through the black and white tents experiencing treats and wonderful smells as you travel through the books pages.
With The Light: Raising an Autistic Child
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
With the Light is an eight part series in a manga form that describes the growth and accomplishments of an autistic boy named Miyu. Family troubles including finding good schools, personal situations including friendship, and showing balance in both concern and support in their relationship to him and his world make this a good story that help readers understand what this difference in adjusting to daily life means.
God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Short essays on life, death and everything in between (including heaven) as written by one of America’s wittiest (and satirical) writers.
Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Using odd photos from vintage collections the author has woven a unique narrative of a young man’s voyage to discover more about the death of his grandfather who left him with some peculiar last words. These send him far from home on a quest to unravel their meaning to a remote island off the coast of Wales. Going into the ruins of a large house he finds that appearances may be deceiving as well as his memories of bedtime tales.
Forgive Me, I Meant to Do It
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
The title says it all. If you are expecting lovely, sweet poems, you are reading the wrong book. These poems are witty, edgy and fun. Children will recognize the fairytales, nursery rhymes and songs that inspired many of these poems. Ms. Levine has also included brief instructions on how to write one’s own false apology poems. This is a must have for any public library.
Born to run
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
This book is both extremely entertaining and very, very interesting for readers who run, want to run faster, can’t stand running or just like to read about it. Anthropology, history, sociology, humor and beer are just a few of the topics touched on in this fascinating book. It’s well worth your time, I assure you!
Killed at the Whim of a Hat
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
The ironically inclined main character is Jimm Juree a former big city crime reporter in Thailand who unexpectedly moves with most of her family down to the southern coast when her mother purchases a remote and rundown resort. There are mysterious skeletons found buried in a Volkswagen van, the murder of a Buddhist monk and things gets funnier and stranger in this complex adventure. The characters in the local community, roaming dogs and people in her family are colorful and unpredictable as well as the introduction per chapter of a quote from George W. Bush to set the mood.

Pages