The Adventures of Mark Twain
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
A delightful new introduction to Mark Twain for long time fans or first comers, but be careful, you may end up talking like Huck if you don’t watch out!
Lily Renée, Escape Artist
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
A very fun, and short, introduction to a brilliant artist. Lily Renee was born in Vienna but when WWII erupted she had to flee to England and then to America where she became a celebrated artist of comic books. Her story is both inspiring and, at times, scary - but ultimately triumphant.
Hello, Cruel World
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Feeling out of place in a world that says you should be “just so”? Have you been told you’re “not supposed to be like that”? Well, then, this book if for you. Kate’s refreshingly honest voice reaches out to teens of all walks of “alternative” lifestyles and says “Hey! Guess what? The world needs good people and it doesn’t matter if you’re ‘different’!” Bringing a message of welcome and hope to the many who need to hear it, Kate Bornstein encourages you to feel good about who (and what) you are.
Curse Of The Blue Tattoo
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Winner of the prestigious Audie award, Katherine Kellgren takes listeners into the ever intriguing – and often quite messy – world of Bloody Jack. This second book sees Jacky heading to Boston to attend a …well, you’ll never guess and should therefore just listen! This story will keep you riveted and wanting more of L.A. Meyer’s brilliantly written character and her wild escapades.
God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Short essays on life, death and everything in between (including heaven) as written by one of America’s wittiest (and satirical) writers.
Born to run
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
This book is both extremely entertaining and very, very interesting for readers who run, want to run faster, can’t stand running or just like to read about it. Anthropology, history, sociology, humor and beer are just a few of the topics touched on in this fascinating book. It’s well worth your time, I assure you!
The Emerald Atlas
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter can jump head first into this tale of mystery, magic, intrigue and dark shadows. Remember to watch your back…and beware of the Schreechers! (And watch out for book two – coming soon!)
Extra Yarn
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
A girl finds a box of yarn. She knits herself and her dog a sweater and there’s still yarn. No matter how much she uses she never seems to run out of this wonderful box of yarn…but trouble is brewing when other people begin to notice and are jealous of her colorful yarn Read this lovely (and colorful) story to see what happens when magic is taken for granted rather than appreciated.
The Land Of Green Ginger
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Aladdin is all grown up and now a father himself…with a child who talks too much and doesn’t yet have a name. Toss in a peripatetic island, a wizard who’s accidentally turned himself into a tortoise(and can’t change himself back!) and lots of magic and see where the story takes you!
Hush
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Young Gittel and her friend Devory live secluded lives in a small Jewish community, but Gittel soon learns that sometimes the walls we build to keep us safe actually keep evil closer than we imagined. By turns delightful and heartbreaking this story explores what happens when the people you trust the most betray you.
The Comedy Of Errors
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Fans of audio books, and especially of full-cast recordings, will love the Arkangel production of one of the bard’s earliest plays. Fabulous actors (including David Tennant and Brendan Coyle!) make this two hour play a delight worth listening to over and over.
A Man Without A Country
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Written shortly before his death, Vonnegut's non-fiction critique of society today is in turns both hilarious and extremely poignant. Well worth reading whether you've been a fan for years or never taken a second glance in his direction before.

Pages