A World Without Princes
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Sophie and Agatha’s happy ending is not what they expected, and when they return to the school for help, things there are dire as well. Will Agatha and Sophie survive to find their “happily ever after”?
Joshua Dread
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
It’s hard enough having parents who are super-villains, but when Joshua discovers that he too has a superpower, things get even more challenging. And, if that weren’t bad enough, there are smoke creatures kidnapping the worst of the villains. Superhero fans will enjoy this adventure.
Castle Waiting
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Once upon a time there was a story about a castle and its inhabitants that was riddled with references from fairy tales, songs and popular culture. Uncovering the references is only one aspect of the fun in this well-told adventure.
The Forbidden Stone
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Murder, mystery, travel, knights, and fast paced action. Fans of James Bond, Rick Riordan and the 39 Clues will like this one.
Northwest Passage
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
This stunning, award-winning book is a wonderful introduction to the story of Arctic exploration.
The Spooky Box?
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
A spooky box arrives at the door. Trying to guess what could be inside is terrific fun.
The Things I Can Do
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
A little boy celebrates his growing independence with his own book. The mixed media illustrations are joyfully messy and an absolutely perfect match to the black crayon text. This is a fun book to share with a little one discovering his/her own growing abilities.
Binky the Space Cat
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Binky, a house cat, is on a mission to build a rocket ship so that he can go into outer space, explore new worlds and battle aliens. Once his space ship is complete and he is ready to blast off, he realizes that he’s forgotten something very important. This is the first in a series of Binky adventures.
Big City Otto
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
When Otto the elephant’s best friend, Georgie, is chimp-napped by the Man with the Wooden Nose, Otto and his parrot friend, Crackers, travel to America in search of him. Laughter and pandemonium are never far when Otto and Crackers are on the hunt.
Wonderstruck
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Though their stories take place 50 years apart, Ben and Rose’s searches, one for a father, the other for a famous actress, weave back and forth until they finally come together to form one. As Ben’s story unfolds in words, Rose’s story is told in pictures. This is Brian Selznick at his best.
The Colossus Rises
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Jack McKinley has a problem. He has to find and retrieve seven magic Loculi that were stolen and hidden in ancient times, and he has to do so before the gene he has inherited kills him sometime before his 14th birthday. If that weren't enough to deal with, there are the others who will stop at nothing to gain the power of the Loculi.
The One and Only Ivan
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Ivan is a gorilla, who lives in cage in a shopping mall. He has promised his dearest friend to save a baby elephant from sharing his fate. This is his version of the story – and it’s a Newbery award winner.

Pages