With The Light: Raising an Autistic Child
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
With the Light is an eight part series in a manga form that describes the growth and accomplishments of an autistic boy named Miyu. Family troubles including finding good schools, personal situations including friendship, and showing balance in both concern and support in their relationship to him and his world make this a good story that help readers understand what this difference in adjusting to daily life means.
Forgive Me, I Meant to Do It
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
The title says it all. If you are expecting lovely, sweet poems, you are reading the wrong book. These poems are witty, edgy and fun. Children will recognize the fairytales, nursery rhymes and songs that inspired many of these poems. Ms. Levine has also included brief instructions on how to write one’s own false apology poems. This is a must have for any public library.
Hopper and Wilson
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Hopper and Wilson are friends who wonder what is at the end of the world. Hopper hopes to touch the moon, while Wilson wants nothing more than an endless supply of lemonade. This is a touching and playful story of what is truly important in life.
No Ordinary Day
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Valli spends her days scavenging pieces of coal and fighting with her cousins in Jharia, India. She wants more, but it is the only life she knows. Then, when she learns that the family she thought was hers, really isn’t, she leaves her home and ends up living on the streets of Kokata. One day, she is given the opportunity to get off the streets. Valli must decide whether to take a risk and accept the offered help, or remain on the dangerous streets she understands. This is a story of hope that will stick with the reader.
Hello, Cruel World
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Feeling out of place in a world that says you should be “just so”? Have you been told you’re “not supposed to be like that”? Well, then, this book if for you. Kate’s refreshingly honest voice reaches out to teens of all walks of “alternative” lifestyles and says “Hey! Guess what? The world needs good people and it doesn’t matter if you’re ‘different’!” Bringing a message of welcome and hope to the many who need to hear it, Kate Bornstein encourages you to feel good about who (and what) you are.
Curse Of The Blue Tattoo
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Winner of the prestigious Audie award, Katherine Kellgren takes listeners into the ever intriguing – and often quite messy – world of Bloody Jack. This second book sees Jacky heading to Boston to attend a …well, you’ll never guess and should therefore just listen! This story will keep you riveted and wanting more of L.A. Meyer’s brilliantly written character and her wild escapades.
God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Short essays on life, death and everything in between (including heaven) as written by one of America’s wittiest (and satirical) writers.
Born to run
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
This book is both extremely entertaining and very, very interesting for readers who run, want to run faster, can’t stand running or just like to read about it. Anthropology, history, sociology, humor and beer are just a few of the topics touched on in this fascinating book. It’s well worth your time, I assure you!
The Emerald Atlas
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Fans of Percy Jackson and Harry Potter can jump head first into this tale of mystery, magic, intrigue and dark shadows. Remember to watch your back…and beware of the Schreechers! (And watch out for book two – coming soon!)
Hope for Hashimoto’s
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
What is interesting about the book is how the author describes the patient lifestyle for an autoimmune disease. Comparing it to a set of scale that balances between healthy and unhealthy areas and what may cause an upset in equilibrium makes this more understandable. In 2005 over 100 autoimmune diseases were recognized by the National Institute of Health affecting over 23.5 million people and many of them got through 6 to 8 doctors before getting diagnosed. Environmental versus genetically caused conditions are also discussed and what might be triggers for some of them.
Art Of The Chicken Coop
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
Delightful ideas for coops for your feathered flock including Materials Lists and the capacity and design tips with photos of each step make this a practical book. Interesting and fun facts are of the bottom of the pages with recipe ideas. Profiles of chicken raising people and their experience are shared to make this an effective tool for people who are contemplating adding poultry to their lives. The one that I most enjoyed was the Gypsy Hen Caravan style coop the author designed and plans are included.
The Night Circus
Collection:
Picked By:
Why is this a pick?:
This is a wonderful magical tale with two main characters Marco and Celia who were raised by magicians to offer resolution of a game showcasing the strength of their magical skills. The arena is Le Cirque des Rives a circus that appears randomly throughout the world and only takes place in the nighttime. The author involves the reader in a sensory description that walks you through the black and white tents experiencing treats and wonderful smells as you travel through the books pages.

Pages